Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Need help with 16x2 LCD
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: August 7th, 2006, 5:26 am
- Location: Australia
Need help with 16x2 LCD
Hi
I have some problem with my lcd.
I got one lcd which is 16x2 with backlight.
the model is ssc2a16 and the datasheet is here
http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/QP-5516.pdf
it seems to be hd44780 compatible.
I wired the lcd and start the lcd smartie.
The problem is only the left 8 chars of both rows are right.
the right 8 chars are all black blocks.
check the wiring many times and also change the lpt port from spp to epp to ecp to ecp+epp ect but with no luck
an google find the controller seems to be nt 3881 or similar.
any one can help?
thanks
I have some problem with my lcd.
I got one lcd which is 16x2 with backlight.
the model is ssc2a16 and the datasheet is here
http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/QP-5516.pdf
it seems to be hd44780 compatible.
I wired the lcd and start the lcd smartie.
The problem is only the left 8 chars of both rows are right.
the right 8 chars are all black blocks.
check the wiring many times and also change the lpt port from spp to epp to ecp to ecp+epp ect but with no luck
an google find the controller seems to be nt 3881 or similar.
any one can help?
thanks
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 734
- Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
- Location: Romania
- Contact:
Hi!
Just looked at the datasheet and indeed it seems compatible.
But this isn't the issue. Your LCD is broken...
It has three chips (or black blobs) on it's back and one of them, the column controller for the part of screen that has black blocks is broken (or has a PCB trace to it interrupted by a scratch).
Look at the bright side: you got the wiring right!
Just looked at the datasheet and indeed it seems compatible.
But this isn't the issue. Your LCD is broken...
It has three chips (or black blobs) on it's back and one of them, the column controller for the part of screen that has black blocks is broken (or has a PCB trace to it interrupted by a scratch).
Look at the bright side: you got the wiring right!
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
After doing a brief google search I can up with this. The addressing is different. The commands and timing is essentially the same as HD44780 but not how it places characters on the LCD panel. This will not work unless you rewrite the driver or make your own. It would probably be easier just to buy a HD44780.
J
J
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: August 7th, 2006, 5:26 am
- Location: Australia
Thanks for your reply, _X7JAY7X_.
I am not sure how to find the difference, could you give me some more advice.
I am not afraid of modified the program cause I have do programming for many years. Of course it is not about LCD.
Anyway, I will really appreciate it if you could give me a bit more info about this so I could go into the right direction
I am not sure how to find the difference, could you give me some more advice.
I am not afraid of modified the program cause I have do programming for many years. Of course it is not about LCD.
Anyway, I will really appreciate it if you could give me a bit more info about this so I could go into the right direction
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
The first place to start is to see what the difference in between and HD44780 and an NT3881 as far as addressing. Then you will have to edit the hd44780 parallel driver using delphi. In there some where should be a start address of where to start printing to the lcd at. All you should have to do it change the addressing around a bit. Sorry I cant be of more help right now. If you need help tommorrow PM me.
J
J
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
I looked at the datasheet you provided for your LCD.
The addressing for your display is as follows:
Line1 128 129 130 ... ... .... (decimal)
Line2 192 193 194 ... ... .... (decimal)
For a HD44780:
Line1 0 1 2 ... ... .... (decimal)
Line2 64 65 66 ... ... .... (decimal)
I am surprised you where getting anything at all. What did you have the LCD set to?
I came across this forum http://www.skwor.com/big-trouble-LCD-no ... 09x587.htm
J
The addressing for your display is as follows:
Line1 128 129 130 ... ... .... (decimal)
Line2 192 193 194 ... ... .... (decimal)
For a HD44780:
Line1 0 1 2 ... ... .... (decimal)
Line2 64 65 66 ... ... .... (decimal)
I am surprised you where getting anything at all. What did you have the LCD set to?
I came across this forum http://www.skwor.com/big-trouble-LCD-no ... 09x587.htm
J
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: August 7th, 2006, 5:26 am
- Location: Australia