Hi, I have an application written in c sharp and need at certain times to output some info to a LCD. Is this possible using LCDSmartie and by writing a plugin? How do I call my code to write the text out from within my application?
Are there any c sharp examples? I am using .net 2.0
Thanks in advance.
Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Newbie question - How to create a custom plugin using C#
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 26th, 2007, 6:20 pm
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:
Re: Newbie question
Since you're an experienced to .net (visual studio) this is the most simplest thing!dotnetlcdhelp wrote:Hi, I have an application written in c sharp and need at certain times to output some info to a LCD. Is this possible using LCDSmartie and by writing a plugin? How do I call my code to write the text out from within my application?
Are there any c sharp examples? I am using .net 2.0
Thanks in advance.
C# plugins are supported by LCD Smartie:
http://lcdsmartie.sourceforge.net/plugins.html
http://sourceforge.net/project/download ... plugin.zip
If you need extra help feel free to add a post here.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 26th, 2007, 6:20 pm
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 26th, 2007, 6:20 pm
I understand I can build a c# plugin, add it to the plugins directory and add this to a line in LCDSmartie:
$dll(csharpplugin.dll,1,"hello","paul")
but how can I trigger a message to be displayed from my custom windows application written in c#?
I basically want to query a database and display a string returned from the database.
Thanks
$dll(csharpplugin.dll,1,"hello","paul")
but how can I trigger a message to be displayed from my custom windows application written in c#?
I basically want to query a database and display a string returned from the database.
Thanks
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:
From my point of view there are several ways to achieve this.
One of them is to create a plugin like my warnifplugin.
In this case you can code your plugin to check if there is a value available from your application and dislpay it otherwise a parameter on plugin should me used to return any other LCD Smartie data (e.g. computer name)
Another way is to make this plugin to return an integer (or any other type of value) in case of data available and put this function to actions pane of LCD Smartie.
In this case you can use one function to display the data and another function to check and enable-disable the screen. This is quite good solution in order to enable the screen only whe you really need it.
One of them is to create a plugin like my warnifplugin.

In this case you can code your plugin to check if there is a value available from your application and dislpay it otherwise a parameter on plugin should me used to return any other LCD Smartie data (e.g. computer name)
Another way is to make this plugin to return an integer (or any other type of value) in case of data available and put this function to actions pane of LCD Smartie.
In this case you can use one function to display the data and another function to check and enable-disable the screen. This is quite good solution in order to enable the screen only whe you really need it.