Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
Refresh even if data is unchanged? *cash for solution!*
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: September 27th, 2007, 12:55 am
- Contact:
Refresh even if data is unchanged? *cash for solution!*
Is there a way to tweak LCD Smartie so that it sends the data every xxx milliseconds regardless of what the data is? For instance: currently if I tell it to display the number "27", it sends "27" to the screen once and then stays quiet until I type in a new number and hit "apply". This is fine for most LCDs, but the project I'm working on now needs a true, periodic refresh--not just an update. Can this be done? Thanks!
Last edited by Jake of All Trades on January 28th, 2008, 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
At present, there is no way to force a full-display refresh (as far as I know). Smartie is designed to only refresh the parts that change, in order to reduce the amount of data sent to the display.
Writing large amounts of data is only a problem with slow comms like serial ports at 9600 baud and slower (a full screen of 4x20 chars would take about 100ms at 9600baud), so maybe it's time an option was implemented to force full-display refreshes. This would be handy for an LCD I have, which handles custom characters a bit differently to the normal HD44780-style behaviour...
Writing large amounts of data is only a problem with slow comms like serial ports at 9600 baud and slower (a full screen of 4x20 chars would take about 100ms at 9600baud), so maybe it's time an option was implemented to force full-display refreshes. This would be handy for an LCD I have, which handles custom characters a bit differently to the normal HD44780-style behaviour...
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: September 27th, 2007, 12:55 am
- Contact:
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 734
- Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
- Location: Romania
- Contact:
the screen is updated immediately when that number changes!
What you have osberved is true, if it doesn't change then why send it?
That way things that change get more often changed onscreen... so to speak bandwidth management.
If you need periodic change (like for making a led sign) then do it in the hardware that lights up the leds, not over a slow serial line.
What you have osberved is true, if it doesn't change then why send it?
That way things that change get more often changed onscreen... so to speak bandwidth management.
If you need periodic change (like for making a led sign) then do it in the hardware that lights up the leds, not over a slow serial line.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: September 27th, 2007, 12:55 am
- Contact:
Right, i understand that. Like I said, this is a fine design for 99.9% of all uses of this software--it's just that my use needs "reassurance", I suppose you could say...caesar wrote:the screen is updated immediately when that number changes!
What you have osberved is true, if it doesn't change then why send it?
That way things that change get more often changed onscreen... so to speak bandwidth management.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: September 27th, 2007, 12:55 am
- Contact:
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:

You can use a file and use the $File(C:\file.txt,1) command or an application and a custom dll to write directly to the LCD.
I have an application that may give you an idea about how to. I believe that it doesn;t fits your needs, but it may help.



Code: Select all
$dll(direct,1,,)
$dll(direct,2,,)
$dll(direct,3,,)
$dll(direct,4,,)

The text must appear on the LCD...
All you need is an external application that updates automatically...
Tell me if this can do something for you. I'll try to find the source code of the program and alter a bit for you (If its close to your needs)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 734
- Joined: October 15th, 2005, 10:39 am
- Location: Romania
- Contact:
Jake of All Trades, please explain what you are trying to do so we can help you better. Also a good description of your display and connection method is welcome as I suppose it's not a regular LCD/VFD.
Remember that processing power and bandwidth requirements are greatly increased if you are always updating a line. The best way is to keep that line in the same status until it changes. There is no need to update it if information doesn't change.
Remember that processing power and bandwidth requirements are greatly increased if you are always updating a line. The best way is to keep that line in the same status until it changes. There is no need to update it if information doesn't change.
-
- Posts: 36
- Joined: March 6th, 2008, 12:47 pm
- Location: Teeny-weeny lil town, IL, USA
thinking...
would the swap.dll work, but instead of having it swap from say $CPU to $MEM, have it swap $CPU to $CPU? that might give you a refresh as it writes new data, not sure how much fast you can go with the swap though (not at my regular computer right now so I can't tinker with it to find out).
ok, enough thinking, head hurting.
Abi.
would the swap.dll work, but instead of having it swap from say $CPU to $MEM, have it swap $CPU to $CPU? that might give you a refresh as it writes new data, not sure how much fast you can go with the swap though (not at my regular computer right now so I can't tinker with it to find out).
ok, enough thinking, head hurting.
Abi.