Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases

New uTorrent Plugin.

Announcements of new plugins or updates.

Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo

cosenodefi
Plugin Author
Posts: 37
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 5:40 pm
Location: Zaragoza (SPAIN)

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by cosenodefi »

zerocode wrote:I have problemas with utorrent 2.1...i get the last webui.zip, configure the preferences but all counters show "0". I Disable the option webui.token_auth but not work...any ideia?
Torrent 2.1?

As far as I know... the last uTorrent version is 2.01 build 19248, not 2.1.
The WebUI I'm using is version 0.361.

This is my LCDSmartie screen for general stats about uTorrent

Code: Select all

Line1    ** uTORRENT **$CustomChar(1,4,14,31,4,4,4,4,4)$CustomChar(2,4,4,4,4,4,31,14,4) 
Line2    Tot:$dll(utorrent,2,0,) Act:$dll(utorrent,2,1,) Comp:$dll(utorrent,2,2,)
Line3    $dll(utorrent,2,4,) de $dll(utorrent,2,3,)
Line4    $Chr(176)$dll(utorrent,2,6,)K/s $Chr(158)$dll(utorrent,2,7,)K/s
(The '$CustomChar' statments define two small images, an up arrow and a down arrow, as 'upload' and 'download' symbols)

The plugin is running smoothly on my system (Win2K+SP4), can you give us more details about your installation?

Regards.

zerocode
Posts: 22
Joined: May 21st, 2006, 2:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by zerocode »

cosenodefi wrote:
zerocode wrote:I have problemas with utorrent 2.1...i get the last webui.zip, configure the preferences but all counters show "0". I Disable the option webui.token_auth but not work...any ideia?
Torrent 2.1?

As far as I know... the last uTorrent version is 2.01 build 19248, not 2.1.
The WebUI I'm using is version 0.361.

This is my LCDSmartie screen for general stats about uTorrent

Code: Select all

Line1    ** uTORRENT **$CustomChar(1,4,14,31,4,4,4,4,4)$CustomChar(2,4,4,4,4,4,31,14,4) 
Line2    Tot:$dll(utorrent,2,0,) Act:$dll(utorrent,2,1,) Comp:$dll(utorrent,2,2,)
Line3    $dll(utorrent,2,4,) de $dll(utorrent,2,3,)
Line4    $Chr(176)$dll(utorrent,2,6,)K/s $Chr(158)$dll(utorrent,2,7,)K/s
(The '$CustomChar' statments define two small images, an up arrow and a down arrow, as 'upload' and 'download' symbols)

The plugin is running smoothly on my system (Win2K+SP4), can you give us more details about your installation?

Regards.

Im using Windows Seven, my release of utorrent is 2.01 build 19248 and webui v0.371...i try your code for screen and sthil "0" :|

cosenodefi
Plugin Author
Posts: 37
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 5:40 pm
Location: Zaragoza (SPAIN)

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by cosenodefi »

I've updated my webUI to version 0.371, and the plugin keeps working fine.
I've tested on my machines: WinXP Pro/Home (SP3) and Win2K (SP4), and all run fine.
I'm running LCDSmartie 5.4.

The only case I've found to simulate the behaviour you get... is deleting the config file of the plugin (or deactivating the WebUI in uTorrent preferences).
In other words, making the plugin config file inaccesible from the plugin DLL, and it can be done by...
- config file not exists.
- config file in a wrong folder.
- config file inaccesible/unreadable (i.e: permissions or wrong format).

Stop LCDSmartie and check the config file of the plugin, it...
- ...be in the same folder than plugin DLL
- ...must have the name 'utorrent.ini'
- ...be in plain text
- ...be readable/accesed by the DLL

The content structure of the config file is simple:
[config]
user=<your username>
pwd=<your password>
server=<machinename where is utorrent> (*) or localhost if you have LCDsmartie in the same machine
port=<port of the webUI>
refresh=<refresh interval in milisec>

... restart LCDsmartie
Every change in the config file must be followed by a LCDSmartie restart, in order to restart the plugin, because the config file is read only once (in the plugin initialization).

If you think is all correct, type in the web browswer:
http://<server>:<port>/gui/?list=1

If everything is correct in your uTorrent you should see the JSON response of the your uTorrent client webserver. This response is what the plugin reads.
If you are getting nothing... the plugin reads nothing. If you get the response, and the plugin shows 0s, there isn't communication between the plugin and the WebUI, so recheck the plugin's config file values .

Regards

zerocode
Posts: 22
Joined: May 21st, 2006, 2:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by zerocode »

cosenodefi wrote:I've updated my webUI to version 0.371, and the plugin keeps working fine.
I've tested on my machines: WinXP Pro/Home (SP3) and Win2K (SP4), and all run fine.
I'm running LCDSmartie 5.4.

The only case I've found to simulate the behaviour you get... is deleting the config file of the plugin (or deactivating the WebUI in uTorrent preferences).
In other words, making the plugin config file inaccesible from the plugin DLL, and it can be done by...
- config file not exists.
- config file in a wrong folder.
- config file inaccesible/unreadable (i.e: permissions or wrong format).

Stop LCDSmartie and check the config file of the plugin, it...
- ...be in the same folder than plugin DLL
- ...must have the name 'utorrent.ini'
- ...be in plain text
- ...be readable/accesed by the DLL

The content structure of the config file is simple:
[config]
user=<your username>
pwd=<your password>
server=<machinename where is utorrent> (*) or localhost if you have LCDsmartie in the same machine
port=<port of the webUI>
refresh=<refresh interval in milisec>

... restart LCDsmartie
Every change in the config file must be followed by a LCDSmartie restart, in order to restart the plugin, because the config file is read only once (in the plugin initialization).

If you think is all correct, type in the web browswer:
http://<server>:<port>/gui/?list=1

If everything is correct in your uTorrent you should see the JSON response of the your uTorrent client webserver. This response is what the plugin reads.
If you are getting nothing... the plugin reads nothing. If you get the response, and the plugin shows 0s, there isn't communication between the plugin and the WebUI, so recheck the plugin's config file values .

Regards

Tanks!!!! I remade all configs and now works!!!! Tanks :smt006

cosenodefi
Plugin Author
Posts: 37
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 5:40 pm
Location: Zaragoza (SPAIN)

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by cosenodefi »

zerocode wrote: Tanks!!!! I remade all configs and now works!!!! Tanks :smt006
You're welcome!
:)

bmn
Posts: 1
Joined: April 28th, 2009, 4:07 am

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by bmn »

is it possible for you not to include the % sign in the completed, either that or release the source so I can do it myself ;), i ask because i would like to make a bar for completion

sebnup
Posts: 1
Joined: September 16th, 2010, 11:15 pm

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by sebnup »

Hello,

I have tried using this plugin, but it doesn't work for me. I have followed the instructions in the readme and entered the correct information in my utorrent.ini file. (The webUI works fine on a browser)

When I use $dll(utorrent,1,0,2) or any other third parameter, my LCD prints (NULL)
When I use $dll(utorrent,2,1,) or any other 2nd parameter, all I get on my lcd is 0.

I am using LCD Smartie 5.4 and µTorrent 2.0.4, on Windows 7 x64

Am I doing something wrong? Can somebody help?

hayate
Posts: 1
Joined: September 26th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Re: New uTorrent Plugin.

Post by hayate »

Doesn't work anymore? Using utorrent webui v0.370 all I get is `0` for everything. The plugin does connect to server.

cosenodefi
Plugin Author
Posts: 37
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 5:40 pm
Location: Zaragoza (SPAIN)

uTorrent plugin in Windows 7

Post by cosenodefi »

Hello,

I don't what are you doing, but...
1) The plugin runs fine in Windows 7 Pro
2) In windows 7, permissions are more restrictive, check this out first.
:-)

This is the test system I've build:
- 'Miniserver': My old server, running Win2K SP4 during years, with uTorrent v2.04.22150 & WebUI v0.371.
- 'Virtual7': a Oracle VBox Virtual Machine in my dailywork PC, running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (64bits), with VM Oracle VBox v3.2.8r64453.
(In the VBox: Windows 7 Professional (32bits), with LCD Smartie 5.4 & plugin)

The plugin stablishes queries by http at regular intervals with the WebUI page, take the page contents, parse the data and extract the info about the torrents. So, if you can't connect via http with the WebUI, you will see nothing.
1) Check the status of the uTorrent server WebUI.
- Is the WebUI activated? ( Preferencies->WebUI->Active)
- Is the token security option enabled? ( Preferences->Advanced->webui.token_auth = false)
- Is visible from the machine that runs lcdsmartie in the web browser? (Can you access "http://utorrent_machine_name:webui_port/gui/" in the browser?)
2) Is the plugin INI configured correctly?
- Can resolve the name of the server?
- Can access the desired port (WebUI)?

This is my config (utorrent.ini) in the tests:

[config]
user=administrator
pwd=j17726r859l
server=miniserver
port=8880
refresh=10000

These are the points that I've had to change in Windows7:
In my tests, I had to set the security of the browswer in Windows 7 to 'intranet'.I've not able to see the WebUI page in the IE until i done this.
When I solved the problem, I needed to change the 'hosts' file in the Windows 7, to make resolve the name 'miniserver' to its associated IP. If you specify a IP directly in the INI config file you will not need this.

Also, the new security schema in Windows 7, implies that:
To copy/modify files or folders under 'ProgramFiles' (I've installed LCDSmartie under this folder) need admin privileges, but once permited, the access to the INI file by the plugin is always for 'read'.There's no need to special privileges for normal operation of LCDSmartie nor the plugin.

So check the documentation and recheck the permissions and security settings on Win7.

This is a screenshot of the Windows 7 VM with LCDSamrtie running and showing the uTorrent info:
Image

Best regards
JR.

palmano
Posts: 1
Joined: October 26th, 2009, 8:24 pm

Re: uTorrent plugin in Windows 7

Post by palmano »

cosenodefi wrote: - Is the token security option enabled? ( Preferences->Advanced->webui.token_auth = false)
JR.
Fixed it for me, cheers

Post Reply