Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases
MO GPOs on at start/exit
Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
MO GPOs on at start/exit
Hi guys
It seems that Smartie turns on GPO 5 at startup and on exiting smartie. I've noticed this because I have a buzzer connected to GPO5 and it drives me insane.... I get it to turn off by having
$Chr(254)W$Chr(5)
on the first screen. Is there a better way around this, and how do I make smartie not turn it on on exit?
Would it be possible to add configureable GPO default states in the next/upcoming release/s?
Thanks for any info/help!
ch424
It seems that Smartie turns on GPO 5 at startup and on exiting smartie. I've noticed this because I have a buzzer connected to GPO5 and it drives me insane.... I get it to turn off by having
$Chr(254)W$Chr(5)
on the first screen. Is there a better way around this, and how do I make smartie not turn it on on exit?
Would it be possible to add configureable GPO default states in the next/upcoming release/s?
Thanks for any info/help!
ch424
-
- Plugin Author
- Posts: 1604
- Joined: February 13th, 2005, 7:38 pm
- Location: Athens - Greece
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
Not that I can see. I just have:
$ScreenChanged = 1 then $dll(menu,8,0,0)
$MObutton(S) = 1 then $dll(menu,7,GotoScreen(9),$dll(menu,9,s,0))
$MObutton(A) = 1 then $dll(menu,9,p,WALastTrack)
$MObutton(B) = 1 then $dll(menu,9,n,WANextTrack)
Happens on two different computers, both running version 5.3.2.17, with config files built up independently.
Does it not do the same on your MO display?
ch424
$ScreenChanged = 1 then $dll(menu,8,0,0)
$MObutton(S) = 1 then $dll(menu,7,GotoScreen(9),$dll(menu,9,s,0))
$MObutton(A) = 1 then $dll(menu,9,p,WALastTrack)
$MObutton(B) = 1 then $dll(menu,9,n,WANextTrack)
Happens on two different computers, both running version 5.3.2.17, with config files built up independently.
Does it not do the same on your MO display?
ch424
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
This is reposted from mattcr0:
J
The 86 command turns all the gpo's off not on.*turn off each GPO (8x command 86)
*turn off block cursor (84)
*clear display (88)
*underline cursor off (75)
*auto scroll off (82)
*autowrap off (68)
*auto transmit keypresses on (65)
*auto repeat keypress mode off (96)
*backlight on forever (66,0)
*contrast to {whatever you set in the MO control dialog} (80,x)
*backlight brightness to {whatever you set in the MO control dialog} (152,x)
*set custom char 1 to degrees symbol (78)
*set custom chars 2-4 to bargraph symbols (3x 78)
*set custom chars 3-8 to blank (4x 78)
J
-
- Forum Supporter
- Posts: 590
- Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Yup, Smartie turns all GPOs OFF at startup and at shutdown. I've just been analysing the serial output for other reasons.
Command 86 (ie "V") turns GPOs OFF
Command 87 (ie "W") turns GPOs ON
Note that OFF means that the GPO pin floats, ie it is neither pulled low nor pulled high - it goes to a high-impedance state. When turned ON, GPO pins are pulled low.
Depending on how the buzzer is connected, it could possibly activate when the GPO pin floats. I suspect you may have connected the buzzer incorrectly. Buzzer (+) should go to +5V, and buzzer (-) should connect to the GPO pin. Check the Matrix Orbital LCD manual for details of how to wire LEDs, buzzers etc to the GPOs.
Matt.
Command 86 (ie "V") turns GPOs OFF
Command 87 (ie "W") turns GPOs ON
Note that OFF means that the GPO pin floats, ie it is neither pulled low nor pulled high - it goes to a high-impedance state. When turned ON, GPO pins are pulled low.
Depending on how the buzzer is connected, it could possibly activate when the GPO pin floats. I suspect you may have connected the buzzer incorrectly. Buzzer (+) should go to +5V, and buzzer (-) should connect to the GPO pin. Check the Matrix Orbital LCD manual for details of how to wire LEDs, buzzers etc to the GPOs.
Matt.
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
Arrggg! Brilliant! Thanks people, I just read the datasheet wrong! Duh!
I'll fix it tomorrow. Would the developers consider making this configurable? If you're gonna have fans on the GPOs, it'd be nice to have them running when smartie quits, rather than all switching off and things getting toasty
Thanks again
ch424
I'll fix it tomorrow. Would the developers consider making this configurable? If you're gonna have fans on the GPOs, it'd be nice to have them running when smartie quits, rather than all switching off and things getting toasty

Thanks again
ch424
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
Cheers J, yes I had thought of it but I decided I could do that as a stand-alone project instead of integrating it into this -- it seemed a bit too much effort considering that smartie can read MBM anyway.
However, I am seriously considering adding a new function for PWM fan control, so with a plugin smartie could send a PWM value to the LCD, which it could store in EEPROM and keep running even before and after smartie had quit...
Perhaps in the form
254,102,[gpo],[8bit pwm value]
or
254,102,[gpo],[% value]
or
254,102,[gpo],[value 0-255]
Any thoughts on that?
ch424
However, I am seriously considering adding a new function for PWM fan control, so with a plugin smartie could send a PWM value to the LCD, which it could store in EEPROM and keep running even before and after smartie had quit...
Perhaps in the form
254,102,[gpo],[8bit pwm value]
or
254,102,[gpo],[% value]
or
254,102,[gpo],[value 0-255]
Any thoughts on that?
ch424
-
- Hardware Genie - Plugin Author
- Posts: 374
- Joined: February 16th, 2005, 10:24 pm
- Location: Michigan
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: March 21st, 2006, 6:43 pm
- Location: Oxford, UK
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: February 10th, 2006, 8:45 pm
Very sorry to resurrect a dead topic, but it looks like this maybe helpful for my other topic.
Is this in the config? Could I tell it to turn ON the GPOs on start? Mine shut off the fans whenever LCD SMartie starts up![/quote]Quote:
*turn off each GPO (8x command 86)
*turn off block cursor (84)
*clear display (88)
*underline cursor off (75)
*auto scroll off (82)
*autowrap off (68)
*auto transmit keypresses on (65)
*auto repeat keypress mode off (96)
*backlight on forever (66,0)
*contrast to {whatever you set in the MO control dialog} (80,x)
*backlight brightness to {whatever you set in the MO control dialog} (152,x)
*set custom char 1 to degrees symbol (78)
*set custom chars 2-4 to bargraph symbols (3x 78)
*set custom chars 3-8 to blank (4x 78)