Our new official repo is on github
LCD Smartie version 5.6 is released!
Download it now: https://github.com/LCD-Smartie/LCDSmartie/releases

CFA635 LED Support

General discussion about LCD Smartie.

Moderators: _X7JAY7X_, caesar, IFR, mattcro, limbo, Fast351

Post Reply
hydrolisk1792
Site Admin
Posts: 305
Joined: July 23rd, 2010, 8:32 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV USA
Contact:

CFA635 LED Support

Post by hydrolisk1792 »

Is there any way to get LED control support for the CFA635 USB 4x20 LED screen from Crystal Fontz? Here is a Pic of the unit...

Image

I need control like for how LCD Smartie has the button confiuguration on this same unit. Like for instance, if I have an E-Mail, the first LED will turn Green, or if I have 0 E-mails, the first LED will turn Red... Any Idea on how to make this work if it is already in the program? If it isn't already in the program, is there a .DLL file in the works that I can put into that particular LCD Smartie DIR becaus I have 5 other incarnations of the program running at the same time.

Thanks

mattcro
Forum Supporter
Posts: 590
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CFA635 LED Support

Post by mattcro »

According to the datasheets, these LCDs have the bi-colour LEDs connected to the GPIOs, so you should be able to set up some actions in LCD Smartie to set GPO states according to email activity (or anything you like).

For example:

Code: Select all

IF $Email1 > 0 THEN GPO(5,1)     (turns green LED on if email exists)
IF $Email1 > 0 THEN GPO(6,0)     (turns red LED off if email exists)
IF $Email1 = 0 THEN GPO(5,0)     (turns green LED off if no email exists)
IF $Email1 = 0 THEN GPO(6,1)     (turns red LED on if no email exists)
I'm not sure that I've got the correct GPO numbers there (5/6) but you can experiment to find out what works on your LCD.

Make sure you have email access set up correctly in Smartie first. Configure the email account 1 login parameters and put $Email1 on a screen to see what it reports.

hydrolisk1792
Site Admin
Posts: 305
Joined: July 23rd, 2010, 8:32 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV USA
Contact:

Re: CFA635 LED Support

Post by hydrolisk1792 »

Wow thanks for the speedy reply!! That is awsome, I didn't even know that there was support for the LEDs in Smmartie, I'm going to try is later. Thanks. :D

mattcro
Forum Supporter
Posts: 590
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CFA635 LED Support

Post by mattcro »

Smartie can control the General Purpose Outputs (GPOs) of supported displays, and these are usually connected to things like LEDs or beepers on display modules. It looks like your display will work, but you'll have to try it and see...

hydrolisk1792
Site Admin
Posts: 305
Joined: July 23rd, 2010, 8:32 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV USA
Contact:

Re: CFA635 LED Support

Post by hydrolisk1792 »

mattcro wrote:Smartie can control the General Purpose Outputs (GPOs) of supported displays, and these are usually connected to things like LEDs or beepers on display modules. It looks like your display will work, but you'll have to try it and see...

Well I know that it has been a while since I have posted anything on this topic, but I did try it and it don't work. None of the GPOs work on this display with smartie. I did use the wintest-635 from crystalfontz and the LEDs do work, but just not with smartie. Also how am I to get temperature readings out of the SCAB board attached to the 635?

Post Reply