Page 1 of 2

Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 3:12 am
by chill1999
I have completed a plugin for weather information (and more) read from the Yahoo! Weather RSS feed.

This is a .Net plugin so it requires the .Net framework.

This plugin works for any location worldwide available from http://weather.yahoo.com and returns the current conditions, temperature, and 3 day forecast (high temperature, low temperature, and condition) based on a US Zip code or a location code in either fahrenheit or celsius.

$dll(YahooWeather,1,98101,currenttemp) returns the current temperature for Seattle, WA.

$dll(YahooWeather,1,AYXX0003#c,forecasthigh#2) returns tomorrow's high temperature in celsius for Base Jubany, Antarctica.

Additionally, for each location the plugin can return the timezone, sunrise, sunset, city, region, latitude and longitude.

Data from multiple locations can be included on one or more screens. The plugin updates data every 10 minutes by default but this can be modified with a registry entry.

You can browse the Yahoo! Weather pages to determine the location code (it will be the name of a weather page without the .html extension.

Download the plugin below:
lcdsmartie homestead com link broken

Find weather codes here:
http://weather.yahoo.com

Posted: January 22nd, 2006, 10:17 am
by balloonbuffoon
Thank you! Just what I wanted. :D

Posted: April 3rd, 2006, 5:10 pm
by Ngare
Hey, awesome plugin I've been using since I got a screen, one question though, has anyone noticed that the weather stopped displaying recently? This morning when I checked my screen it showed that there was no data at the xml site, I was wondering if Yahoo changed anything. Thanks

No weather issues known

Posted: July 25th, 2006, 4:49 pm
by chill1999
I haven't seen any weather issues with the plugin. Still using it and it seems fine. You can check the feed by typing the URL used by using the "URL" command. Configure an LCDSmartie screen with the following:
$dll(YahooWeather,1,98102,url)

You will get back a link (like http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=98102&u=f). Type this into a browser and you can see if the feed returns correctly. [/url]

weather plugin failing with external exception

Posted: June 6th, 2007, 4:58 am
by aurora
Hi,

I have been using the weather plugin for quite some time now and have been very happy. Just today I noticed that it doesn't appear to function correctly. The currenttemp works, but currenttext returns:

Dll: external exception E0434F4D

Any help would be great. I think something in the Yahoo feed changed, but not sure.

Thanks

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
by coiote
great plugin , work fine with 4x20.

But ... how to change the US weather.yahoo by BR weather.yahoo to show Mostly Cloudy in portuguese(Nublado) or Italian ?

Thanks ! :wink:

Posted: November 26th, 2007, 10:07 pm
by rfryar
coiote wrote: But ... how to change the US weather.yahoo by BR weather.yahoo to show Mostly Cloudy in portuguese(Nublado) or Italian ?
Since there is just a relatively small list of conditions it would be fairly easy to use the search and replace plugin to replace the "Mostly Cloudy" with "Nublado", and do this for all the other possible conditions.

Just a quick idea.

Rick

Posted: December 28th, 2007, 5:44 pm
by ApatiaMax
how could i know all weather state ? :roll:
"most clody"
"Cloudy"
"stom"
"sunny" .... ummm where can i find all the rest ?

Plugin

Posted: March 14th, 2009, 8:53 pm
by Bellerophon
This plugin works for any location worldwide available from http://weather.yahoo.com
Looking at this does it only take a zip code? What about postcodes?

UPD - Ahhh, you can use a code, found it now.

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: November 16th, 2009, 12:20 pm
by Vityok7
please tell me where I can download this plugin

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: December 14th, 2009, 12:10 am
by alphaman1101
PLease PLEASE RE UPLOAD!!! ive been searching for a plugin to do exactly this!!!

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: December 15th, 2009, 7:58 am
by turkeypert
if this is acceptable you can also get weather using the $Rss function here http://www.accuweather.com/rss-center.asp
global weather and you can set whether it's metric or us temp

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 10th, 2010, 1:38 am
by zerocode
Can anyone re-post? the download link is broken...

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 12th, 2010, 3:30 am
by onlinespending
zerocode wrote:Can anyone re-post? the download link is broken...
I second that motion. Looking for the YahooWeather.dll file.

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 15th, 2010, 10:21 am
by limbo
Attached to first post!
Have fun

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 15th, 2010, 11:36 pm
by cybergeek
Can anyone tell me how I can get the information for Canada. When I enter the code $dll(YahooWeather,1,98102,city) I can get the city seattle but when I enter the name of my canadian city I get a bad code. Can anyone tell how to do this.

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 16th, 2010, 2:22 am
by onlinespending
limbo wrote:Attached to first post!
Have fun
thank you limbo!

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: February 16th, 2010, 6:46 am
by cybergeek
onlinespending wrote:
limbo wrote:Attached to first post!
Have fun
thank you limbo!
Ah Thank you I did not look that far.

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: April 16th, 2010, 1:00 pm
by dcologne
Hallo ,

can anyboby help me finding out the Code for:

cologne in Germany :?:

At yahoo weather I always get the 667931 but this is not correct :cry:

Thank you and regards from
dcologne

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: April 16th, 2010, 7:46 pm
by cybergeek
dcologne wrote:Hallo ,

can anyboby help me finding out the Code for:

cologne in Germany :?:

At yahoo weather I always get the 667931 but this is not correct :cry:

Thank you and regards from
dcologne
I think your location is GMXX0018 and the code will be...

Code: Select all

$dll(YahooWeather,1,GMXX0018,currenttemp) 
Than will give you the temp then you can just add Germany Cologne before your code if you like. And if you want it in Celsius just add the code #c after your location like so

Code: Select all

$dll(YahooWeather,1,GMXX0018#c,currenttemp) 

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: April 17th, 2010, 7:33 am
by dcologne
Hallo cybergeek ,

thank you for your help,now it is working fine :D

Best regards from
dcologne

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: April 17th, 2010, 9:32 pm
by cybergeek
you are very welcome glad to hear it is working. If you want more locations just use the rss feed links and grab that code form there. :)

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: June 24th, 2010, 3:12 am
by zerocode
I have a problem with yahoo plugin, when i try to use the code, show the error:

Image

I reinstaled my windows and restored the LCD directory from my old system, and this screen don't work...

I'm using:
Windows 7 32bits
LCD USB

Code:

Porto Alegre $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,currenttemp)°
$dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186,forecasttext#1)
Min: $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,forecastlow#1)°
Max: $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,forecasthigh#1)°

And:

Max: $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,forecasthigh#1)°
Min: $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,forecastlow#2)°
Max: $dll(YahooWeather,1,BRxx0186#c,forecasthigh#2)°

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: June 24th, 2010, 9:14 pm
by cybergeek
I just tested those codes and they work good on my program maybe you have some other problem.

Re: Yahoo! Weather plugin now available

Posted: June 24th, 2010, 9:32 pm
by zerocode
cybergeek wrote:I just tested those codes and they work good on my program maybe you have some other problem.

Any ideia? i download again the dll and sthill error...

Sorry my english :oops: